Data Breach Management

data breach

The UNSW person who notifies of a breach shall report it to the IT Service Centre (, who will then escalate the matter to the Data Breach Management Committee.

There are five key steps required in responding to a data breach:

  1. Contain the breach
  2. Evaluate the associated risks
  3. Recovery
  4. Consider notifying affected individuals and escalation to UNSW senior management
  5. Prevent a repeat.

For more information about how UNSW manages data breaches please refer to the Data Breach Policy.

If you require assistance from the Cyber Security team in containing a data breach please log a ticket with the IT Service Centre via email.

Please contact in your Faculty or Division person below if you think that there is a potential data breach:


Division of Academic - John Reed

Division of Enterprise - Susan McColl

Division of Equity, Diversity & ​Inclusion - Deborah Samuels

Division of Research - Thomas Chow

Division of External Relations - Kristy Oberg

Division of Finance & Operations - Kristy Guia

Division of Human Resources - Pete Murray

Division of Philanthropy - Irena Tasevska

Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences - Christa Mobbs

UNSW Business School - Nigel Poole

Faculty of the Built Environment - Francy Fan

Faculty of Engineering - Lucian Hiss

Faculty of Law - Victoria Edwards

Faculty of Medicine - Tracey Good

Faculty of Science - Marie Simmons

Art & Design - Luke Killen

UNSW Canberra (ADFA) - Newton Braga